New Independent Lothian Candidate Makes Hustings Début

Campaign ButtonLothians’ newest independent candidate made his hustings début at the Edinburgh City Chambers last night.  Ken O’Neill appeared alongside nine other Lothian region candidates at the event organised by Edinburgh’s Active Citizenship Group.  The event, chaired by Lesley Riddoch, gave each of the candidates a chance to introduce themselves and answer questions from the audience.

Ken O’Neill said:

I really enjoyed the experience of talking to people about my ideas and beliefs rather than just giving them a flyer.   This was the first hustings event I’ve attended as a candidate and really appreciated the reception the audience gave me.   We are constantly told that the public are not interested or engaged in politics.   Judging from tonight’s articulate and thoughtful audience I’d say that’s not true.

During my speech I spoke about how politicians have disengaged themselves from the public and no longer reflect their concerns. That had a resonance with people tonight – they’re tired of politicians voting along party lines rather than standing by their beliefs.   I’m a simple minded fool, I believe that MSPs are elected to govern the country and do what is best for it, not oppose their political rivals.

My message to Lothian voters is simple.   If you elect me, I will do everything I can to secure the best deal for Edinburgh and the Lothians.   If you want a different voice at Holyrood that will protect your interests and not a political party, use your regional vote to elect Ken O’Neill.

If you want to find out more about Ken O’Neill and why he’s standing for Parliament, read the Who I Am section on the site.  Alternatively, read his latest blog posting – Put Up or Shut Up.

You can also contact Ken and learn how to follow his campaign on the Contact Me section.

About LothiansKen

I'm a middle classed kiddie, but I know where I stand.
This entry was posted in Press Releases. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

