Moral Dilemma Time for a Womble

I’m trying to sort out sponsorship for a 10KM run I’m doing next month.  I had wanted to donate half of the funds to the Everyman campaign, a charity set up to research and raise awareness testicular and prostate cancer.  For those who don’t know, this is a cause close to my heart, or rather my groin.  The trouble is their fundraising supports research at the Institute of Cancer Research (ICR).

While the research at the ICR uses a wide range of different methods and techniques, they do use animal research.  They argue that this is used where no alternative exists.  The trouble is, I don’t agree with animal testing for anything and debate how useful it is.  Just because a drug works on an ape or a mouse doesn’t mean it will on a human.  As I said to my pal Lotte the other day, it is like comparing bananas and lemons.  I am an acknowledged hypocrite on this subject as my family and I have benefitted from such research.  

So the question is, do I stick to my guns and not support animal testing?  Is maintaining my own morality, such as it is, more important than hypocrisy?  Or would I actually damn myself even more by donating the money to a charity that supports activities I disagree with?  Which is the lesser of two evils here?

Of course the simple solution is to donate the money to Macmillan Cancer Support instead, as I have no qualms about their activities.  Or even to stop over-thinking the issue.  After all, there are enough other issues in my life that need and deserve my attention, so why deliberately create another one.  

Then again, why not just chicken out and ask your friends and various strangers what you should do.  Aye, that’s a far better idea. . . 

About LothiansKen

I'm a middle classed kiddie, but I know where I stand.
This entry was posted in General Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Moral Dilemma Time for a Womble

  1. WadyWiwwow says:

    Bite the bullet and donate to Everyman. Best of luck with your training and post a link when you’ve decided what action is best. Might geylt a few quid out of my tightfist!!!

  2. moleart says:

    In a way you have answered your own question already by saying that it’s morality vs hypocrisy. We all have profited from animal research and, what is more, research carried out on human beings. Medicine wouldn’t be where it is today without both. This is a simple fact and does not reflect my opinion, which clearly is against the use of animals in research. It is more than questionable and goes against all my ethical and moral beliefs. It’s the history of medicine which then makes us all hypocrites, because we take medicines and undergo treatments which are either based on research being carried out now or were carried out in the past.
    The question you are asking today deserves an answer which you can morally accept today. If you are against any research carried out on animals then, in my opinion, you should not donate to a charity which supports this research.
    That would be hypocritical, because you are fully aware what you are doing. Receiving treatment is still on a different level; and although I wish that no research would carried out on animals at all, we are often in a situation, where we can’t influence the treatment we receive. We can, however, influence who we support.
    I hope this is not too confusing, but I thoroughly believe that it is important to live your morality and ethics as much as you can, because there will always be situations in your life when you can’t.

Leave a Reply

